How did these claims of a ‘Satanic Panic’ victim go unquestioned?

Satanic Panic has largely been acknowledged as nonsense. Apart from this case

Madelaine Lucy Hanson
5 min readMay 14, 2023

EDITORIAL NOTE: I’ve decided not to name the person in question as I believe them to be mentally unwell rather than malicious. I’ve changed some aspects of their life for that reason. Everything in this piece is my opinion and should not be read as accusatory in nature.

Martha White appears neat, unassuming, and soft spoken. She folds her hand in her lap and begins her story, one thousands of abuse survivors initially would find similarities in. A violent father who killed her pet dog. A cold mother who looked the other way. Strange visitors who did bad things. Nothing I, or I hope anyone with any decency, would question in the confidence of a person speaking about their trauma. But that is where my sympathy ends.

Because here, things get really, really crazy.

--

--

Madelaine Lucy Hanson

27 year old with an awful lot to say about everything. Opinions entirely my own. Usually.