How to get over absolutely anyone: even if that feels impossible

I love deeply, too. And I still managed to move on

Madelaine Lucy Hanson
4 min readMay 20, 2024

I know: it feels like a bad addiction. You’re in agony and it cloys in your lungs and festers like an infection in your head. The music box of what has been goes over and over until the tune makes you sick. There’s a gaping chasm in your life where love and joy used to be, and stability has collapsed through the floor with your self esteem. But don’t panic: I’ve been comatose and sobbing and praying and performing impromptu witchcraft, and I’m still here, excited about my future, and doing well.

Here’s how I did it.

1. Distance.

This step is the most important, and the other points only work if you follow this rule: get some physical and emotional distance from your ex or crush. Do not see them, do not speak to them, do not text them, do not check their social media. I don’t care if you’ve agreed to stay friends; you cannot be friends with someone you’re still in love with. Sorry. You absolutely must totally remove yourself from their lives. You cannot rebuild your own dreams, hopes, interests and goals when you’re living in the delusion that they will want you again. And harsh truth time: it’s super, super rare to want to get back with your ex, and people won’t leave…

--

--

Madelaine Lucy Hanson

27 year old with an awful lot to say about everything. Opinions entirely my own. Usually.